John, I believe that what happens if you stop paying is that LR will mostly function. You will still access your photos be able to search and existing editing data will still be held, you can still import and export. You can even use the quick edit in LR but that is very limited. What you will lose is the Development Module, the map module and Mobile Synch. Of course, PS will also stop working.
I suspect that you may have already lost access the map module as Google would not let Adobe keep this facility for older version without charging. While Adobe could do this for the CC version, as they generate income, they have nothing coming in from the old versions. You are also missing out on a number of improvements for both LR and PS.